Skip to content

When is Father’s Day 2020 celebrated?

June 15, 2020

Father’s Day is usually celebrated on the third Sunday in June, but there are countries that celebrate it another day.

Increase your business, Not your inbox

Stay up to date and subscribe to our daily newsletter now!

Read for 3 min

When is Father’s Day 2020 celebrated?When is Father’s Day 2020 celebrated?

Father’s Day is coming! Although we are going through an atypical situation worldwide, we will not stop celebrating dad in his time. Most countries celebrate this date on the third Sunday in June, but just like Mother’s Day has different holidays in different countries around the world (usually May 10th), so does Father’s Day.

For example, in several countries in Europe, Father’s Day is celebrated on March 19, the day of Saint Joseph, the Father of Jesus according to Christian tradition, but in Latin America on the third Sunday in June.


Why is Father’s Day celebrated on the third Sunday in June?

In 1910, a woman named Sonora Smart Dodd heard a sermon on Mother’s Day one day and felt that her father’s work was not recognized equally. She was particularly appreciative of her father because her father, the veteran of the civil war, William Jackson Smart, raised her and her five siblings alone.

Smart Dodd contacted the Spokane Ministerial Alliance, his hometown, and proposed his own father’s birthday, June 5, for the celebration. The alliance chose the third Sunday in June.

Learn more:

The celebration was officially made by US President Lyndon B. Johnson in 1966 and therefore spread throughout much of the world.

Father’s Day 2020 takes place worldwide

  • February 23: Russia
  • 19th March: Spain, Morocco, Andorra, Bolivia, Croatia, Honduras, Italy, Liechtenstein, Mozambique, Portugal
  • 8th of May: South Korea
  • 10th of May: Romania
  • May 21: Germany
  • June 5: Denmark
  • June 7: Switzerland, Lithuania
  • 14th June: Austria, Belgium
  • 17th of June: El Salvador, Guatemala
  • June 21st: Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, USA, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, Afghanistan, Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Burma, Brunei, Canada, Cambodia, China, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dominica, Egypt, Slovakia, Ethiopia, Philippines, France, Ghana, Greece, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya , Kosovo, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Macau, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malta, Namibia, Nigeria, Oman, Netherlands, Palestine, Pakistan, Qatar, United Kingdom, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Syria, South Africa , Sri Lanka, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • 23rd June: Nicaragua, Poland
  • June 28th: Haiti
  • July 12: Uruguay
  • July 26: Dominican Republic
  • 8th August: Taiwan
  • August 9: Brazil, Samoa
  • September 6th: Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea
  • 13.september: Latvia
  • September 20th: Ukraine
  • 4th of October: Luxembourg
  • November 8: Estonia, Finland, Indonesia, Iceland, Norway, Sweden
  • November 12th: Indonesia
  • December 5: Thailand
  • December 26: Bulgaria