Skip to content

WhatsApp wants to destroy the pictures of your conversations after you see them

September 25, 2020

The photos you send with confidential or private information are deleted without a trace.

2 min read


  • When pressed, the photo expires and also disappears from the chat. However, there will be no text to indicate that it has been deleted, as it currently does.
WhatsApp wants to destroy the pictures of your conversations after you see them
WhatsApp wants to destroy the pictures of your conversations after you see them

WhatsApp is preparing its next novelty. This feature allows you to send pictures that will self-destruct after the recipient of the message sees them.

According to the portal WaBetaInfothis function is called Leaking media (Files that expire) that you can use to share multimedia content that cannot be saved in your phone’s gallery or replayed.

According to the information, if the function is available, the icon of a 1 surrounded by a circle will be displayed in the chat after selecting an image to send.

When pressed, the photo expires and also disappears from the chat. However, there will be no text to indicate that it has been deleted, as it currently does.

Depositphotos.com

The pictures, videos and GIFs This self-destruct can be sent in both private chats and group conversations: once the image has been downloaded and every member of the chat sees it, the content disappears from their device. WhatsApp doesn’t block screenshots, however, so the content can equally be immortalized.

Both the person sending the photo and the person sending the material must have the latest version of WhatsApp. Otherwise the private content will be sent but the other contact won’t be able to view it because their app is incompatible.

There is no specific date when this new feature will be activated. However, they are only available in version 2.20.201.1 of the Android beta.

Receive Breaking News !

Install
×
Enable Notifications    Ok No thanks