Trump’s Nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize Was Apparently Forged. Twice.

Mr. Skjold said the earlier letter was subjected to a thorough and lengthy forensic examination, which the new letter is also likely to undergo.

In a phone interview on Wednesday, Mr. Njolstad of the Nobel committee, said, “We verify all nominations, at least the ones with a shadow of doubt.”

Newsletter Sign Up

Continue reading the main story

Trump’s Nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize Was Apparently Forged. Twice.
Trump’s Nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize Was Apparently Forged. Twice.

Thank you for subscribing.

An error has occurred. Please try again later.

You are already subscribed to this email.

View all New York Times newsletters.

Mr. Njolstad declined to provide details or copies of the forged nominations, but he said it was fair to assume that the documents purported to have been from a nominator who — when contacted — said the nominations were not valid.

A large number of people qualify as nominators for the prize, including heads of state, lawmakers and cabinet ministers of countries around the world; members of the International Court of Justice and the Permanent Court of Arbitration, both based in The Hague; members of the Institute of International Law, based in Ghent, Belgium; university professors of history, social sciences, law, philosophy, theology and religion; certain university leaders; directors of peace research institutes and foreign policy institutes; and past recipients of the prize.

Four American presidents have been awarded the prize, most recently Barack Obama, in 2009. Jimmy Carter was recognized in 2002, more than two decades after he left office.

The decision to present the award to Mr. Obama, during his first year in office, while the United States was still engaged in wars in Afghanistan and Iraq (conflicts that continue to this day), was widely criticized at the time. The following year, the prize went to the Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo, setting off furious protests from China and a long chill in diplomatic relations between China and Norway.

Thorbjorn Jagland, a former prime minister of Norway, who was the chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee when Mr. Obama and Mr. Liu were recognized, remains on the selection committee but no longer leads it.

Since 1901, 131 laureates have been recognized (many sharing the prize with others). One laureate, Le Duc Tho of North Vietnam, in 1973, declined the prize. Three laureates — Mr. Liu; Aung San Suu Kyi, now Myanmar’s de facto leader; and the German pacifist and journalist Carl von Ossietzky — were in detention or under house arrest at the time they were recognized.

A version of this article appears in print on March 1, 2018, on Page A4 of the New York edition with the headline: Oslo Riddle: Who Put Trump Up For Nobel?. Order Reprints|Today’s Paper|Subscribe

Continue reading the main story

Similar Posts