Skip to content

The United States sanctions the President of the Venezuelan Electoral Council

September 4, 2020

The United States government this Friday announced new sanctions against four Venezuelan leaders, including the President of the National Electoral Council (CNE), Indira Maira Alfonzo Izaguirre, and Attorney General Reinaldo Muñoz Pedroza, who are in full debate about the electoral process of Chavismo ending in the December.

US Treasury Secretary Steven T. Mnuchin has assured that “the corrupt regime of (Nicolás) Maduro is trying to gain control of the National Assembly of Venezuela through fraudulent elections”. Washington, he said, was “on the side of the people of Venezuela” and against the “illegal” government.

As part of this pressure, the list of Venezuelan officials sanctioned with the names of the President of the CNE and another member of this body, José Luis Gutiérrez Parra, was expanded on Friday. This includes former governor David Eugenio De Lima Salas, whom the United States has linked to two vote-buying programs.

Receive Breaking News !

Enable Notifications    Ok No thanks