The EU is imposing sanctions on 175 Ukrainian heads of state and government for another six months for annexing Crimea

The 27 this Friday extended sanctions against 175 Ukrainian leaders and 44 organizations involved in the Russian annexation of Crimea in 2014 for a further six months.

The restrictions extend to March 2021 and are the EU’s response to measures that undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.

According to the Council, the measures include both freezing its funds in the EU and a ban on making funds or other economic resources available to it. These sanctions apply to 175 heads of state and government who were involved in the integration of the peninsula into Russia as a federal unit from various fields.

Similar Posts