“At Netflix, the last thing we want is for people to pay for something they don’t use,” said Eddy Wu, director of product innovation for the platform.
Increase your business, Not your inbox
Stay up to date and subscribe to our daily newsletter now!
Read for 3 min
This story originally appeared on Cinema Premiere
Are you still there If so, it’s time to let Netflix know. It has been announced that the platform of Streaming The video player automatically begins to cancel thousands of accounts that have been inactive for an extended period of time.
This action, which Netflix will take, is designed to help users who continue to pay for the platform’s services but do not use them. In a corporate blog published on May 21, Eddy Wu, Director of Product Innovation at the company, wrote the following:
“The last thing we want on Netflix is that people pay for something they don’t use. Therefore, we ask all of you who haven’t seen Netflix for a year since joining to confirm that you want to keep your membership, and we’ll do the same to anyone who hasn’t been watching for over two years. If you do not confirm that you want to remain subscribed, we will automatically cancel your subscription. “
Users who have been inactive for periods of one year or more without using the platform will receive emails and notifications in the company’s applications to confirm the cancellation of the subscription, i.e. those who do not want to cancel their subscription Account. You still have time to confirm that you will keep it.
Similarly, Wu said that if a user changes their mind after canceling, it is very easy to re-subscribe to Netflix:
“We always thought that it should be easy to register and cancel. As always, anyone who cancels and re-joins within the next 10 months will have their favorites, profiles, display settings and account details as they left them. “
The account is canceled in all countries in which the platform works. So if you’re an inactive Netflix user, you can expect your account to be terminated or wait for you to receive an email or notification from the platform to confirm cancellation or further use.