Skip to content

Malaysia’s ruling party wins the Perak by-election

August 30, 2020

The ruling Malaysian party Barisan won the by-elections to the Perak State Assembly on Saturday against the new party of former Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad.

The ruling coalition candidate, Mohd Zaidi, won 13,060 votes in the Slim River by-elections, which, according to the electoral commission, secures him a seat in the assembly.

Mahathir’s candidate Amir Khusyairi, who presented himself as independent as the formation was not yet registered, received 2,155 votes, according to the national newspaper ‘The Star’.

Malaysia’s ruling party wins the Perak by-electionMalaysia’s ruling party wins the Perak by-election

Mahathir announced the formation of a new political party in early August after a court in May removed him from the United Indigenous Party of Malaysia known as Bersatu, the formation he co-founded in 2016.

Receive Breaking News !

Enable Notifications    Ok No thanks