Business

In this way, according to an expert, you can prevent data from being stolen via WhatsApp

Zak Doffman, a cybersecurity expert, has made some recommendations to avoid compromising your WhatsApp account.

3 min read


  • Perform a two-step verification.
  • Do not save photos and videos automatically.
  • Only allow your contacts to add you to groups.
In this way, according to an expert, you can prevent data from being stolen via WhatsApp
In this way, according to an expert, you can prevent data from being stolen via WhatsApp

The digital world makes us vulnerable, no matter how secure the applications we use, it is possible for hackers to find a way to steal information that can harm us personally and our businesses.

With that in mind, cybersecurity expert Zak Doffman has made some recommendations to keep your account from being compromised Whatsapp. Within that, you need to configure your application to work a certain way and be a little more secure.

The expert alluded to a case where cyber criminals fooled you about the account of a friend who has already been hacked by asking you to pass on a code sent by SMS on your cell phone. To be more secure you need to:

Perform a two-step verification

According to the specialist, a criminal who wants to take over your WhatsApp account will not be able to complete the hijacking because he does not know your verification code.

Image: Screenshot from WhatsApp.

To enable this setting you need to open the application, access the menu, then Settings, Account and Verification in two steps. Press the activation option. You enter a six-digit PIN and email address so that you can recover it in case you forget it.

Don’t let the app save photos and videos automatically

Doffman recommends that you only save photos and videos if you know the sender and are sure that the files were captured by your contact and not taken from the Internet.

Users who allow the application to save these files run the risk of exposing users of unknown origin to malicious code that compromises their data.

Image: Screenshot from WhatsApp.

To configure this option, you need to enter the configuration, chat and disable “Visibility of multimedia files” in Android, while in iPhone you need to disable the “Save to roll” option.

Only allow your contacts to add you to groups

To configure this option, you need to enter your account, privacy and groups, and specify that only your contacts can add you to groups.

Image: Screenshot from WhatsApp.

Similar Posts